• Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

Felleisen

The Story beyond

What is a Felleisen, the German word for “knapsack”?

The word actually comes from the French “valise”. It was a kind of satchel once used by travelling journeymen to carry all sorts of important and valuable items on their travels – a travel bag that could be relied on. Post bags and riding satchels were also known as Felleisen. We’ve decided to give this old word a new lease of life, representing the antithesis to today’s hectic world, as, at the end of the day, you should be able to kick back and relax when taking a trip in your VW van and to do so, you need a storage bag you can rely on.

About us

As outdoor enthusiasts, we weren’t particularly impressed with what the market had to offer when it came to window bags. As you can tell from our products, we’re no glampers, but true outdoorists. It’s not enough for a product to look good, it has to be practical as well.

We asked ourselves why a window bag has to only function as a window bag? Why does it have to be too large and heavy when packed? Why can’t it be possible to take a window bag down quickly and conveniently?  When taking a ferry or staying in fixed accommodation, it would be great to be able to quickly detach a window bag. If the rear seat were to be folded down, the bag would jut out into the vehicle, so it should also be possible to hang it on the front seats. It should also be possible to use and access the bag from the rear seat or boot.

And so, in 2017, we decided to design our own window bag, with multiple functions and more features, breaking the mould in doing so. The result: the BasicONE, an almost indestructible bag thanks to our sharp focus on local production, top-of-the-range materials, function and quality.

Our patented mounting system is extremely robust, lightweight and elegant and, above all, it only has to be installed once. What’s more, there’s no need to stick any kind of Velcro to the interior of your van. But it didn’t end there: we also had to devise a simple and stable way of attaching the bags. After lots of experimentation with various attachment systems, we found that there was nothing better than simple elasticated bands - easy to replace and also easy to repair oneself in the event of an emergency.

As fans of both the outdoors and VW vans, we hope that our product has been able to win you over. From now on, a window bag is no longer just a window bag - it is more, it is better and it is multifunctional.

The Felleisen team

• Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

Felleisen

The Story beyond

Was bitte ist ein Felleisen?

Hinter Felleisen steckt das franz. Wort "valise". Es handelt sich um einen Tornister, in dem Handwerksburschen allerlei wichtige und wertvolle Dinge auf Ihrer Wanderschaft verstaut haben -  ein Reisebeutel auf den man sich verlassen konnte. Aber auch der Postsack bzw. die Reitertasche wurden als Felleisen bezeichnet. Weil auch wir möchten, dass Du dich auf dein Felleisen verlassen kannst und eine Fahrt im Bulli entschleunigend wirkt, haben wir uns entschieden diesen alten Begriff als Gegenpol zur modernen und hektischen Welt wieder aufleben zu lassen.

Story

Als begeisterte Outdoorfans waren wir nicht wirklich von den am Markt erhältlichen Produkten überzeugt und wahrscheinlich merkt man es auch unserem Produkt an, wir sind keine Glamping-Fans, wird sind wirklich draußen. Unsere Produkte sollen praktisch und schön sein - nur schön reicht nicht.

Wir haben uns gefragt, warum  eine Fenstertasche nur eine Fenstertasche sein muss. Warum muss diese, wenn sie beladen ist, so schwer und groß sein? Warum kann man die Fenstertasche nicht schnell und komfortabel entnehmen?  Gerade auf Fährpassagen oder beim Ausweichen in eine feste Unterkunft wäre ein rasches Aushängen der Tasche super. Beim Umklappen der Heckbank ragt die Tasche in das Fahrzeug. Also muss man diese an die Frontsitze umhängen können. Eine Bedienung der Tasche von der Rückbank und von der Heckklappe aus ist ein absolutes "Must-have."

Somit haben wir uns vor über einem Jahr aufgemacht, eine eigene Fenstertasche zu entwerfen die multifunktional ist und mehr Features besitzt. Dabei haben wir  uns von den herkömmlichen Normen befreit. Herausgekommen ist die BasicONE, eine fast unverwüstliche Tasche, weil wir konsequent Wert auf lokale Produktion, hochwertige Materialien, Funktion und Qualität gelegt haben.

Mit unserem patentierten Trägersystem ist es uns gelungen eine Halterung zu konstruieren, die äußerst robust, leicht und elegant ist. Vor allen Dingen muss die Halterung nur einmal montiert werden. Desweitern sollte kein Klettband der Welt irgendwie an das Interieur geklebt werden müssen. Auch das Haltesystem sollte simpel und stabil sein. Nach langem Experimentieren mit verschiedenen Verschlusssystemen konnte nichts stärker überzeugen als einfache Gummizüge -  austauschbar und in der größten Not auch selbst zu reparieren.

Wir hoffen Dich mit diesem Produkt als Outdoor- und Bullifan zu überzeugen. Ab jetzt ist eine Fenstertasche nicht mehr nur eine Fenstertasche - sondern sie ist mehr, ist besser, ist mulitfunktional.

Das Felleisenteam

Adresse

Zahlungen

Service

Felleisen

Jürgen Schmidt

Falkenstr. 12

D-91154 Roth, Bayern, Deutschland

E-Mail:contact@felleisen.com

Versand